Demeter’s Lament

Where have you gone my lovely one?
Why do I feel so alone?

I remember-
You knew me before I knew myself
Secret, special
Carried within
My body, my mind
Long before anyone else knew you
We experienced each other
From the inside out
My body was yours
Other, yet the Same
Dancing to tides and rhythms
Of blood and being
You danced within, then without
Yet you knew me before cornflower blue eyes,
Bubbling velvet green

Where are you, child of my inner self?
Wild and free,
Independent and fierce
Exploring the world, molding It to you
Comedy and Tragedy
You swallowed the universe
And gave it back
One act, one experience at a time.
Growing, carving the wind
With your voice, your words
I crave to hear you again,
Singing, sighing, crying
Where is your vision,
Your poetry?
Silence reigns.

What has happened? Where are you?
Young one, wavering on the brink,
Mama’s sweetheart, growing, changing.
Seeking ever to know
You took apart everything
Marveling at its complexity
Rearranging at will
You created new worlds, new expanses
Listening, learning, questioning
You as student
Taught me so much
About myself, about you
About joys and bonds and
Freedom.
With you was Acceptance.

I search fruitlessly in dusty, dry echoes
Aching, grieving.
I am alone.

About Janet Logan

Well educated woman, transgender / transsexual, lesbian, Reiki practitioner, LGBT activist, polyamorous, and eclectic Pagan.
This entry was posted in Children and Motherhood, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

